Hunting for Plastic-free Clothes

Last year I bought flip flops, two hats, one pair of jeans, a tank top, a necklace, and a bracelet. My mom bought me a yoga mat and my husband bought me a turquoise ring in Santa Fe for our 7th anniversary. After getting the new things I desired (and weeding out what I didn’t want) I was satisfied with my personal belongings. I could proudly say, “I don’t want anything.” And it was true… until I realized most of my clothes were made of plastic. Just seven items in my wardrobe were 100% cotton. The rest contained polyester, acrylic, nylon, or spandex, which are all forms of plastic.

Now, I want a wardrobe that isn’t made of plastic. So my mom and I went on a shopping spree to find natural and organic clothing. I was looking for simple, versatile pieces made of cotton (or other natural fibers) that would last for years to come. I wanted each item to be at least 90% cotton; preferably organic since conventional cotton is just as harmful to the environment as plastic. If the item wasn’t organic, it would need to have another positive attribute (like made in the USA or secondhand). I was thrilled with the gems I found…

wardrobe new

From Crossroads: Abercrombie and Fitch jeans (99% cotton, made in Mexico) and Seven for all Mankind jeans (98% cotton, made in the USA), both secondhand.

From Staff of Life Market: Maggie’s Organics socks (90% organic cotton, made in the USA)

From Whole Foods Market: PACT socks (75% organic cotton *I lowered my standards for socks*, no child labor, no sweatshops, no toxic pesticides, all-recyclable cardboard packaging), PACT underwear (95% organic cotton, GOTS certified, fair trade cotton), and Feelgoodz flats (100% cotton and natural rubber, vegan, handwoven by artisans in Guatemala)

Purchased online, but available in some colors locally at Legs: PACT leggings (92% organic cotton, GOTS certified, perfect fit)

From Synergy: long sleeve “moon phases” tee (95% certified organic cotton, fair trade, purchased at a local business)

And the winner is… Pacific Trading Company (a local family-owned business), where I found a coat and a cowl neck sweater by Raw Earth Wild Sky (both 100% organic cotton, handmade in Los Angeles, super comfortable and cozy), a black tee by Stateside (100% cotton, designed and made in LA; dyed, cut, and sewn within a ten-mile radius to ensure quality control), a long sleeve black tee by Groceries (100% organic cotton, made in California with low-impact dye), a purple long sleeve tee by Cut Loose (70% cotton, 30% linen, made in San Francisco), and several tees by WILT (all 90-100% cotton and made in Los Angeles).

I wasn’t supposed to buy anything this year. So much for that. I’m on a new mission to replace my existing wardrobe with sustainable, ethical clothing (and downsize, yet again, while I’m at it). So little by little, things will be coming in (and going out) until I am, once again, satisfied.

IMG_0024

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hunting for Plastic-free Clothes

  1. flojoeasydetox February 29, 2016 / 3:04 pm

    What lovely clothes!! Rather jealous… I have been hunting online here in the UK. It’s not going well. Too much print, beige and safe. I love your moody toned stuff; nice design twists too. 🙂

    Like

    • Near-O Waste February 29, 2016 / 5:38 pm

      Thank you 🙂 good luck with your search!

      Like

  2. gerkengaby February 29, 2016 / 8:00 pm

    That’s so great! I like the intentions behind “buy nothing”, but in the end sometimes you just need new clothes. It’s great that you’re shopping for better brands!

    Like

  3. Walnut Avenue April 12, 2016 / 9:52 pm

    Hi there! I just found your blog and am super stoked on reading about your journey! I’m also a Santa Cruz blogger (though not on your level!) and am happy to connect with another!
    This year I’m mostly focusing on consuming only ethical clothing and eating clean, and am so inspired by people who do so much more.
    Have a great day!
    ❤ Meghan @ http://www.walnutavenueblog.com

    Like

    • Near-O Waste April 13, 2016 / 3:50 am

      Thanks, Meghan! I checked out your blog- love it! I look forward to following you as well (and I also love road trips!). Santa Cruz is a special place to grow up and live. I really like the mix of topics on your blog and love seeing pix of places I know 🙂 Do you have a Facebook page?

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.