My Top Ten Tips for Tidiness

I’ve always considered myself an organized person, but reading Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up gave me the spark of inspiration I needed to finally complete my lengthy minimization project (and keep our house in order once and for all). 

Our house isn’t big, fancy, or even traditional, but it’s tidy and clutter-free. And in that I’ve found magic. I’m no Marie Kondo, but I have some of my own ideas for tidying up. First, get rid of every single possession that you don’t like, love, need, want, or use. Then…

1. Wash dishes on the spot

It’s tempting to fill a sink with dirty dishes, but with a little extra effort they can be rinsed and put straight into the dishwasher or washed by hand right away. It’s easier said than done, but looking into an empty sink is always a relief.

2. Get rid of your laundry basket(s)

Our dirty clothes go straight into the washing machine and I run the load when it’s full. This way I never have a basket -or baskets- of dirty laundry (although I do stockpile my own shirts for a special load because I don’t want them mixed in with the grubbier clothes of the boys in my house). Cloth napkins and rags are another story.

3. Give stuffed animals a sleeping bag

My boys each have a “sleeping bag” (pillow case) for their stuffed animals. All their cuddly friends stay inside when not in use. They are welcome to acquire as many as can fit in the sleeping bag (not having to abide by my rule unless it fills up!).

4. Open an in-home “toy shop”

Our living room, kitchen, and bedrooms are totally toy-free! We keep our kids’ toys in a closet/pantry that we call “The Toy Shop”. They can choose one item at a time and trade it in for another whenever they want. This ensures that our house doesn’t become cluttered. Legos are accessible anytime in the play room, but need to be cleaned up completely when they want to (or have to!) change activities.

5. Keep everything in its place

Getting the kids to follow this rule can be a challenge. I’m the one making sure it happens for now, but I can see the good habits slowly forming. Putting everything back where it belongs, every time, is the most important piece of the clutter-free puzzle.

6. Clean out the car daily

It’s so easy to let stuff pile up in the car each day, and by the end of the week it’s a 30-minute job to clean it out. To avoid this, I keep a milk crate in my car and use it to bring my things in when we get home from school. (The boys are responsible for theirs.) Of course, once inside, things go back where they belong and my empty crate is ready to transport things to the car in the morning.

7. Keep horizontal surfaces clear

We have a bookshelf and a “seasonal shelf” where we display pictures and keepsakes, but everything else is put away. The top of our TV stand is clear and the kitchen counter doesn’t have anything on it (besides the compost bowl, usually a pot of bread, and sometimes our water bottles). Same goes for the table beside my rocking chair and our desks. My weekly dusting is so much faster when I don’t have to clear the surfaces I’m wiping.

IMG_1871
Our reading rainbow and summer shelf (changes seasonally).
IMG_0478
Scrapbooks go in the TV stand, nothing goes on top.
8. Don’t put anything on the floor

Just like tables, dressers, and counters, I like to keep our floors clutter-free. Everything has a home on a shelf, in a drawer, or on a hook, so when I sweep I don’t have to spend time picking things up off the floor first.

IMG_6318
I especially love the empty space under our bed.
9. Keep dirt outside

We take our shoes off outside and leave them by the entry rug. (Shoes that won’t be worn the next day go back in the closet.) This keeps most dirt out. I shake the rug regularly, which helps as well. I use a washtub and the hose if my kids’ feet are dirty before they enter.

10. Make the nightly rounds

Every evening after dinner (okay, *almost* every evening) I sweep the living room and kitchen floors, wipe the table after my boys have cleared their plates, clear and wipe the counter top, and wipe around the sink. There’s nothing else to clean up because everything’s been put back where it belongs throughout the day. In ten minutes tops, I’m ready for a restful evening and a new day. 

I find a cluttered house stressful and unsettling. I’m just not at ease when my house is out of order. Making tidiness a way of life has freed me from the angst I used to feel about having stuff everywhere. When things are tidy, I can sit back, relax, and enjoy the things that matter most. 

 

7 thoughts on “My Top Ten Tips for Tidiness

  1. Nadine August 15, 2016 / 7:39 pm

    Love this post and I love tidiness! I love your idea of the seasonal shelf. Also couldn’t help but notice your book “Animal vegetable miracle”; read it, loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Near-O Waste August 15, 2016 / 7:51 pm

      Thank you, Nadine! (That book changed me!)

      Like

      • Nadine August 16, 2016 / 2:36 pm

        Me too! It changed a huge aspect of my life.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. jane August 20, 2016 / 7:10 pm

    Hello- I just found your blog today and really love it! I love the “near-0”, bc really… that’s what we’re going for isn’t it. šŸ™‚ Sorry- I couldn’t find an email address to contact you through- but really love your 777 approach to clothing. Ingenious! I blog at janejojulia.weebly.com about my journey toward simple, fair, and zero-waste… but have just started http://www.fairdare.org and would love it if you would be willing to answer a few questions about your approach to dressing so that we could be inspired there! Let me know if you might be willing! šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Near-O Waste August 22, 2016 / 3:54 am

      I just checked out your blog and website; love them!
      Iā€™d be happy to answer your questions about my wardrobe via email. My address is teacherscreatures@comcast.net
      Hope to hear from you soon!

      Like

  3. Lindsay (Treading My Own Path) August 24, 2016 / 3:38 am

    Hi Andrea, loved this post! I was wondering what my own 10 tips would be… I definitely agree with the idea of not letting dishes accumulate – a cluttered kitchen drives me crazy. We have a laundry basket because I like to separate my stuff – especially as I have a lot of natural fibres that need handwashing. I remember when my husband put one of my favourite wool jumpers in the 40 degree wash, and the hours spent trying to stretch it back to adult size afterwards!

    Great list – we do similar with our shoes, and I try to sweep often before dust builds up. Less stuff definitely makes it easier! : )

    Like

    • Near-O Waste August 24, 2016 / 6:31 am

      Yes, minimalism and simplicity are a good team šŸ™‚ I totally hoard my own shirts too, waiting until I wear them all to wash a special load. I haven’t experienced the challenges of wool though! I hope to read your top ten someday!?

      Like

Comments are closed.