N.O.W. idea #16: Read The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up

After I started reading about minimalism last year, I purged my possessions a few different times, made a pact to stop accumulating stuff, and took some advice from an expert. I was doing pretty well for myself (and my house), but my transformation wasn’t complete until I finished The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up.

IMG_0414

In her book, Marie Kondo suggests sorting and culling your possessions by category, not by room, and doing it all at once. She encourages you to keep things that are useful or spark joy and get rid of the rest. For the items that remain, she lives by the mantra a place for everything and everything in its place. We’ve all heard the old saying, but if you can abide by it, keeping your home tidy will be a breeze. Marie also teaches storage tricks, including clothes folding, (which didn’t really apply to me because my closet is sparse and my drawers are roomy), but I’ve heard other people raving about her techniques.

I didn’t have much left to get rid of when I read Tidying Up, and I was already pretty organized, but after reading this book I was committed to keeping things in their place.

When I look back at how I “went through the whole house” (and ended up doing it again twice more within the year), it’s clear that it would have been easier to be totally thorough the first time. If you’re just getting started with minimizing and decluttering, and you need some inspiration, start by reading The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up. 

 

2 thoughts on “N.O.W. idea #16: Read The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up

  1. Walnut Avenue August 11, 2016 / 9:53 pm

    I’m totally reading this book finally and it’s inspiring me to tackle the messiest corners and closets… I just did the clothing category and things are already so much better!

    Like

Comments are closed.