N.O.W. idea #15: Love Your Local Library

One of the best things about being a teacher is having the summer off with my kids. When we’re not traveling or going to swimming lessons, we have plenty of downtime at home to ride bikes, pick blackberries, relax in the shade, or read.

IMG_1849

There’s nothing like a new book to get my kids excited about reading, and the best kind of “new” book comes from the library; they’re free, and shortly after they come into our house, they go out! My boys are motivated by the library’s summer reading program and my soon-to-be first grader is proudly working on a reading challenge for school. 

IMG_1855

There’s still some summer left. I’ll be cherishing extra book time with my boys (cuddled up in bed, under a redwood tree, or on the back deck). And I’ll be loving our local library.

“Richer than I, you can never be. I had a mother who read to me.” -S. Gillian

 

One thought on “N.O.W. idea #15: Love Your Local Library

  1. Jay July 27, 2016 / 4:02 pm

    Totally agree! Family tradition since I was a kid. Am GrandMa age now, but still remember the weekly trips. We continued the tradition with our kids, and they’re still, as adults, voracious readers. Your’s will forever remember and thank you.

    BTW, for a while -back in the day- the library was our only access to the internet, too. Libraries have so much to offer!

    Like

Comments are closed.