Kissing Collections Goodbye

Pins, patches, pint glasses, post cards, and pencils. Over decades of travel, I’ve collected them all, guilty as charged. (I’ve been known to bring an extra backpack for toting my souvenirs.) But my latest collectible is playing cards. I buy one deck in each state we visit and keep the 4-of-hearts card, to represent our family of 4. But as I was doing my final sweep of the house, purging once and for all, I realized how wasteful it is to use one card, leaving the rest of the deck useless. So I decided to cut my collection short; to stop at 18 states. I certainly don’t need 50 decks of cards from all 50 states. The cards I’ve collected so far fit perfectly into a display case we already had. I’d say it was meant to be.

IMG_8839
I love my last collection!

I am once and for all done collecting! I can travel without feeling the need to bring something back; just pictures and memories (and we still have our map!).

IMG_8854

 

7 thoughts on “Kissing Collections Goodbye

  1. Julia Anduiza November 24, 2015 / 7:11 pm

    Definitely one that everyone can relate to – I used to collect every token, ticket and stub I was given on travels. A few years ago, the idea of making scrapbooks for all these things seemed pointless and somewhat wasteful. Good thing blogs came about!

    Julia

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amanda Chapman November 25, 2015 / 5:59 am

    Traveling is hard to not collect souvenirs. I like your card display, it is really cute. Last year I took to collecting post cards, and I collated them on a big board for a feature display.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Near-O Waste November 25, 2015 / 8:29 am

      Thanks, Amanda 🙂 And so cool about the postcards- I did the same thing on a huge canvas! That was another phase…

      Like

  3. Mailyne November 26, 2015 / 11:15 am

    Awesome idea 🙂 I remember one time I asked my Dad why he didn’t have any pictures or anything really from his backpacking trip in Australia. He just looked at me and said, “it’s all up here” and pointed to his head.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pamela Randall November 27, 2015 / 7:52 pm

    Good post! I used to collect tree ornaments as souvenirs ’til the tree got full, and after the fridge was covered in magnets…Now it’s just one reusable bag per trip, so that every shopping trip is a happy trip down traveling lane!

    Like

Comments are closed.