Nominee: Me!

Since I joined the Zero Waste Bloggers Network, amazing people just keep popping up on the list of members. One of them is a recent college graduate named Danielle, writing at No Need For Mars, who is super excited about starting the rest of her life, Zero Waste style! She so sweetly nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Award and asked me to answer these questions:

1. Give us a 30-second review of your favorite Zero Waste film, book, or blog.

I really enjoy the blog Treading My Own Path by Lindsay Miles. Her writing is easy-to-read, informative, and encouraging. She has inspired me to minimize plastic across the board (not just in packaging) and to become more of a minimalist. She has given me good advice about unruly curls and blogging etiquette, plus she wrote an ebook, which I totally admire and hope to do someday.

2. Who or what is your motivation behind your zero waste lifestyle?

Me, myself, and I. Zero Waste (or rather Near-O Waste) is challenging, rewarding, and addicting all at the same time. I love learning about new strategies and improving upon what I’ve already done. My family is very supportive of Near-O Waste and participates fully, but it wouldn’t happen without me! My mom has taken on the new lifestyle as well. We love to share ideas, try new recipes, and complain about occasional annoyances or catastrophes.

3. What is the meaning behind your blog’s name?

The moment I committed to living Zero Waste, and thought about everything that entailed, I was like, “It should be called Near-O Waste, because ZERO is absolutely ridiculous.” I still strongly believe this. The amount of trash we produce at home is minimal, but it’s definitely not zero. And when I shop…I scoop loose spinach into my cloth produce bag out of a huge plastic bag. I buy fresh, unwrapped bread at the local bakery, made with packaged ingredients. My dog needs flea medicine, my kids need band-aids. It just can’t be zero. At least not for me.

4. How do your family and friends react to you zero waste lifestyle?

There are definitely mixed reactions from my loved ones. Some of them think I’m amazing, and others think I’m insane. But most of them probably fall somewhere in between. It feels really good when people are supportive, but I’m not phased by people who aren’t. I see Zero Waste as a hobby that I don’t preach about, but love to discuss if someone shows interest. I get a lot of positive comments in public like, “Great idea!”, “I should start doing that.”, and “Thanks for doing your part for the Earth.”

5. What is your favorite treat that you just can’t live without?

I’m not sure if this means in general (like a fun fact) or if it’s zero waste related, like a treat I still indulge in even though it creates waste. But in any case… I used to be addicted to sour/gummy candy, like seriously. When we cut most sugar from our diet a few years ago, I realized how horrible that stuff is for your body. So candy wasn’t an issue when we transitioned to Zero Waste at the beginning of this year. We’ve never been ice-cream-buyers, but I do love ice cream when we’re out. Especially from our local creamery, which uses organic, all natural ingredients. And it’s Near-O Waste in a cone! The treat we eat most often at home is dark chocolate, which we used to buy in bars, but now buy from the bulk bins. When we go camping every summer, we buy marshmallows for s’mores (among other packaged splurges), and damn, they’re good!

IMG_7107

Thank you, Danielle, for nominating me. It’s always fun to answer questions and reflect on my journey so far…

One thought on “Nominee: Me!

  1. Danielle @ No Need For Mars August 12, 2015 / 4:00 pm

    This was an amazing post! Thank you for the sweet words and for giving me the opportunity to learn a little bit more about you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.