Two Problems, One Solution

My husband is somewhat of a prepper. In addition to our bug-out bags and cache of silver coins, we have some bottled water stashed away and an extra freezer for emergency (packaged) food. I used to be on board with disaster preparedness, but since l’ve become anti-packaging…

1.) The freezer, which we spent money on, is still plugged in, humming away, with a few lonely items left inside. It’s basically become wasted space and a pointless use of electricity.

2.) The thought of buying or drinking bottled water makes me cringe, but I do want to have some backup H2O.

As I was trying to think of a solution, I came across an article about canning water and told my husband about the idea. He said, “Why don’t you just freeze it?” He’s prepared and clever!

This idea solves both problems. Now we can have emergency water without buying bottled and use our freezer for a good cause.

TOTAL BONUS… I can repurpose the glass jars I accumulate.

AND JUST FOR THE RECORD: I always have a few frozen (homemade) meals in the regular kitchen freezer, just in case.

Not sure how freezing water compares to canning, but we’re going for it.

CAUTION: To avoid breakage, leave room at the top of the jar for the water to expand when it freezes. Use jars with “straight” sides (from pasta sauce, jam, pickles, peanut butter, yogurt, etc.). Bottles with skinny tops, like sparkling water and apple cider vinegar, can shatter (and did shatter in my freezer, right after a reader warned me!). Thank you, Heather.

IMG_7177
I washed each jar with soap and hot water, then filled them with boiling water and let them sit for five minutes (in a large pot to prevent spillage).
IMG_7178
Next, I emptied the hot water (into another pot to use for my plants), and filled the jars up again with filtered water, leaving room for expansion.
IMG_7182
Tucked away in the freezer, ready to become ice, ice, baby.
6 thoughts on “Two Problems, One Solution

  1. Heather T (@htpape) July 6, 2015 / 3:17 pm

    Supposedly, jars with shoulders have a higher chance of breaking. Look for jars that have straight sides for the safest to freeze.

    Like

    • Near-O Waste July 9, 2015 / 2:58 am

      Heather! I just checked my freezer, and bummer… you sure were right about the shoulders. My “straight-sided” jars (from pasta sauce, pickles, salsa, yogurt) were fine, but the two skinny-topped bottle (apple cider vinegar and sparkling water) shattered! Ahhhh! Good thing there were only two, and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

      Like

  2. Compost_Lady July 6, 2015 / 4:19 pm

    Let me know if you have a problem with the jars bursting when freezing or thawing. I’ve been thinking of doing this, but have been afraid of glass shards everywhere. Please update 🙂

    Like

    • Near-O Waste July 6, 2015 / 5:02 pm

      I will update for sure! I’ve frozen jars in the kitchen before and haven’t had a problem, but I will let you know!

      Like

    • Near-O Waste July 9, 2015 / 2:59 am

      Hi, Compost Lady… this was my reply to the reader above (a.k.a. “your jar update”!)…

      Heather! I just checked my freezer, and bummer… you sure were right about the shoulders. My “straight-sided” jars (from pasta sauce, pickles, salsa, yogurt) were fine, but the two skinny-topped bottle (apple cider vinegar and sparkling water) shattered! Ahhhh! Good thing there were only two, and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.