2 Months of Trash (and ways to avoid it captured on film!)

I’m not the type of girl who can fit a year’s worth of trash in a mason jar. Well, actually *I* probably could… but I’m rollin’ with a husband, 2 boys, and a pit bull. Together, we filled just one trash bag in 2 months, and the bag’s not even full. (We’re heading out of state in a few weeks, so I thought it would be a good time to take inventory.) Everything else we “threw away” was composted or recycled. We try to keep our recyclables non-plastic, and to a minimum. The reason behind this choice is best explained by my friend Lindsay Miles.

So, what’s in our trash?

The Costco items we had in surplus before starting Near-O Waste (dental floss, disposable razors, and a toothpaste tube). My husband is finishing up these “conventional” products before joining me in the land of compostable floss, Harry’s razors, and homemade toothpaste.

Our childrens’ stickers (received as gifts or leftover from last year), produce stickers, price labels from the meat counter that I’ve exhausted as post-it notes, pill packs, bandaids, necks from hot sauce bottles and mayonnaise jars, a dog food bag, packaging from the dog’s medication, and bandages from some new tattoos!

Ziplock bags that our son’s teacher used to send home wet clothes. I even washed them and sent them back to school until they ripped. (Next year I’m providing a washable waterproof bag.) And finally, the occasional disposable coffee cup (are you kidding me, Babe?) and takeout remnants my husband acquired on days I wasn’t with him for intervention! Grrr!

But all in all, I’m pretty proud of our little family.

2monthsoftrash

I’ve posted about many of the lifestyle changes that have allowed us to go from one trash bag per day to one trash bag in 2 months. Some of those measures, and others that I haven’t blogged about yet, have been highlighted in a documentary called “Out of Sight” that was created by film students at our local university. It was an honor, an adventure, and an unforgettable experience to be part of this project. The film is an hour long, and pretty slow, so if you want to see our scenes, we can be found at 19:30, 34:52, and 46:35. Click here to watch! 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “2 Months of Trash (and ways to avoid it captured on film!)

  1. Mailyne June 29, 2015 / 4:10 am

    Hey! Is the Silkspun floss packaged in any plastic? I found some local but it was packaged in plastic.

    Like

    • Near-O Waste June 29, 2015 / 4:29 am

      The box is cardboard, but unfortunately the case is plastic 😦 *At least* it’s recyclable (and I’ve seen some cute repurposing ideas online). I’ve heard of some floss in a glass bottle, but I think it’s only available in Germany. There’s always human hair, ha!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.