Bring Your Own Mug

50 billion disposable coffee cups end up in American landfills every year. They cannot be recycled because of a polyethylene lining. Some shops use compostable cups, but how many actually end up in the compost? There’s a recyclable cup in the works, but it still has a plastic (removable) lining.

It’s all about bringing your own mug, folks. It’s easy. Take it along when you leave the house, wash it when you get home, and put it by the door for the next day. Think of it as a habit, not a hassle. If you’re prone to forget, keep an extra mug in your glovebox for backup.

No paper, no plastic, no trash.

No recycling or composting necessary.

No waste!

My mission began at a local coffee shop, which gives a twenty-five cent discount for bringing your own mug. I cooked up this little sign… the manager liked it… and I hope it catches some eyes at the counter! My first graders did the math: a daily drinker would save $91.25 per year and, of course, keep 365 cups and lids out of the landfill.

coffeecups  ownmugstaff

IMG_6600

Recap: Bring your own mug! I’ve been doing it since January. My mom’s been doing it since forever. How long have you been doing it? *or* When will you start?

IMG_6046 IMG_6415

And lastly: This shop ditched disposables for one day to see how customers would react. My only question is: who’s gonna open a coffee shop that ditches them permanently? 

2 thoughts on “Bring Your Own Mug

  1. vintagebeckym May 18, 2015 / 5:45 pm

    Fabulous Idea….I have been bringing my own mug for about a month now. I love it. I am working to make my life as plastic free as possible. Thank you for sharing. Have a Fabulous Day

    Liked by 1 person

    • Near-O Waste May 19, 2015 / 3:37 am

      Awesome, Becky! Keep up the good work 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.