Determination

I must have jinxed myself by posting about the simplicity of making yogurt. Since then I’ve carelessly ruined a few batches and tried some new recipes to no avail. I desperately wanted to succeed and was close to giving up.

Fortunately I made a second (much smaller) New Year’s resolution this year; to focus on a weekly virtue and think about how to incorporate each one into my life. This notion came to my rescue at the perfect time. I’ve been following this list in alphabetical order and this week’s virtue just so happened to be determination. So… (with determination) I went crawling back to my “first yogurt love” (which had a winning consistency but required an annoying amount of time). My latest batch turned out thick, creamy, and perfect, just as I remembered. The only difference is now I’m convinced it’s worth the effort.

The Prairie Homestead method won my heart and I’m committed to making a half gallon every other week. Waking up to replenish the warm water in my cooler every two hours did bring back fond memories of the baby years, but if you’re not so reminiscent, get started in the morning!

IMG_6177

 

3 thoughts on “Determination

  1. ambdoa April 7, 2015 / 3:39 am

    Love this post! I’m going to try it 😉

    Ciao A

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zanygreenquest April 7, 2015 / 8:53 pm

    Thank you for this!! I had heard of another method in which I needed a thermos and a thermometer, so I’ve been waiting to find those items. I been dying as I haven’t bought any yogurt since the new ZW lifestyle.

    Like

    • Near-O Waste April 7, 2015 / 9:25 pm

      I do use a thermometer because I don’t trust my “touch”, although Jill (the writer of the Prairie Homestead recipe) says you don’t have to! Either way, good luck! Yes, so awesome to have zero (or Near-O) waste yogurt!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.