Dear Penny,

After my birthday experience at The Penny, I thought it couldn’t hurt to make a request. This is the message I sent to The Penny:

Dear Penny,

I’ve loved you since the moment you opened! I admire that you are local, fresh, organic, and totally made-from-scratch! I have recently adopted a “Near-O Waste” lifestyle (that is my term for getting as *near* Zero Waste as I can) and I am continually looking for zero-packaging alternatives. I visited your downtown shop today for 3 pints of ice cream (to go). I asked the gal behind the counter if she would put it in my jar. To make a long story short, I got quite a bit of flack. If you’d like to hear the whole story you can read my blog at https://nearowaste.wordpress.com/2015/02/10/a-zero-waste-birthday/

I am writing to ask if you would consider making it company policy to gladly allow customers to bring their own containers for ice cream. I realize that my request is definitely out of the ordinary and probably caught your employee completely off guard, but knowing what I know about your business I would think The Penny would support efforts like mine.

Thank you for your consideration,
Andrea Randall

IMG_7822

My younger son, Charley, enjoying his first ice cream cone (on his first birthday) at The Penny, following in the footsteps of his big brother, Brady.

