A Zero Waste Birthday

For my 35th birthday I wanted to indulge in some ice cream and beer with my loved ones (and without packaging). So after school I scored a parking spot right in front of The Penny in Santa Cruz and walked in happily with my Quattro Stagioni glass jar. The woman behind the counter did *not* take kindly when I asked her to fill it with 3 pints of ice cream. She looked skeptical so I told her I measured it with water and it holds 6 cups. She explained that ice cream pints are not the same as liquid pints, that an “ice cream pint” is 4 scoops. “OK,” I said, (let me rephrase this) “Will you put 12 scoops of ice cream in my jar?” “That’s not something we normally do,” she said, “But I’ll do it for you today.” She started to scoop then hesitated, looked over at me, and asked, “How are you going to get it out of the jar?” “With… a spoon,” I replied. There was an awkward moment of silence before she (very effortlessly) dropped 12 scoops of ice cream into my jar. I paid for my 3 “hand-packed pints” and walked out to find a $38 parking ticket on my windshield for “parking outside of the marked space”. That was not on my birthday list. When I told my husband he said, “I’m sorry, Babe, but that’s right up your alley.” Yeah, so I’ve never had the best park jobs, but I got to drive away with some delicious peanut brittle ice cream in my cooler. It was worth fighting for.

IMG_5290

My next stop was Boulder Creek Brewery, where they’re more accustomed to people bringing their own containers. The bartender filled my growler with Dragon’s Breath IPA, and away I went.

IMG_5307

Unfortunately the title of this post isn’t entirely accurate because I wasted $38.

Lastly, in defense of Miss Scooper, I did have to switch to a large cooking spoon when we got to the bottom of the jar. 🙂

